Emmy’s is leading the way for nominating and awarding a diverse perspective of TV talent. In a Primetime Emmy awards night that could not include any Game Of Thrones Episodes, due to the series airing outside of the nomination period, it was still a very entertaining night. The 69th Primetime Emmy Awards, hosted by Stephen Colbert, aired Sunday on CBS.

black female winner, black female emmy winner,

Aziz Ansari and Lena Waithe for “Master of None” Winners of Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series

Notable winners included Aziz Ansari and Lena Waithe for “Master of None” were the first Emmys awards for Asian male and Black female writers. Donald Glover was the first Black director to ever win an Emmy for Outstanding Directing In a Comedy Series, for his work on Atlanta. Moreover,  Stephen K Brown was the first Black lead male winner for 19 years, for his work on This Is Us. NextRiz Ahmed became the first Asian actor to win an acting Emmy after getting the award for Outstanding Acting In A Limited Series for his work on HBO’s The Night Of.

In other historic Emmy wins, Julia Louis-Dreyfus getting the Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy trophy broke the record for most Emmy wins for a single role (previous record-holders were Don Knotts and Candice Bergen), and The Handmaid’s Tale’s win for Outstanding Drama was the first time that award has ever gone to a streaming service.

Donald Glover winner for Outstanding Director of a Comedy Series

BBC Reported:

Dystopian TV series The Handmaid’s Tale has scooped the top drama honours at this year’s Emmy Awards.

The show won five awards including best drama series, best actress for Elisabeth Moss and best supporting actress for Ann Dowd.

Big Little Lies took five prizes in the limited series categories, including wins for Nicole Kidman and Laura Dern.

The British winners included Riz Ahmed, who took best lead actor in a limited series or movie for The Night Of.

Here are all the winners:

Outstanding drama series

  • “The Handmaid’s Tale” *WINNER
  • “Better Call Saul”
  • “The Crown”
  • “House of Cards”
  • “Stranger Things”
  • “This Is Us”
  • “Westworld”

Outstanding comedy series

  • “Veep” *WINNER
  • “Black-ish”
  • “Master of None”
  • “Modern Family”
  • “Silicon Valley”
  • “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”


Outstanding lead actor in a drama series

  • Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us” *WINNER
  • Anthony Hopkins, “Westworld”
  • Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
  • Matthew Rhys, “The Americans”
  • Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”
  • Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”
  • Milo Ventimiglia, “This Is Us”


Outstanding lead actress in a drama series

  • Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale” *WINNER
  • Viola Davis, “How to Get Away With Murder”
  • Claire Foy, “The Crown”
  • Keri Russell, “The Americans”
  • Evan Rachel Wood, “Westworld”
  • Robin Wright, “House of Cards”


Outstanding supporting actor in a drama series

  • John Lithgow , “The Crown” * WINNER
  • Jonathan Banks, “Better Call Saul”
  • Ron Cephas Jonas, “This Is Us”
  • David Harbour, “Stranger Things”
  • Michael Kelly, “House of Cards”
  • Mandy Patinkin, “Homeland”
  • Jeffrey Wright , “Westworld”


Outstanding supporting actress in a drama series

  • Ann Dowd, “The Handmaid’s Tale” *WINNER
  • Samira Wiley, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
  • Uzo Aduba, “Orange Is the New Black”
  • Millie Bobby Brown, “Stranger Things”
  • Chrissy Metz , “This Is Us”
  • Thandie Newton, “Westworld”


Outstanding lead actor in a comedy series

  • Donald Glover, “Atlanta” *WINNER
  • Anthony Anderson, “Black-ish”
  • Aziz Ansari, “Master of None”
  • Zach Galifianakis, “Baskets”
  • William H. Macy, “Shameless”
  • Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”


Outstanding lead actress in a comedy series

  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep” *WINNER
  • Pamela Adlon, “Better Things”
  • Jane Fonda, “Grace and Frankie”
  • Allison Janney, “Mom”
  • Ellie Kemper, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, “Black-ish”
  • Lily Tomlin, “Grace and Frankie”


Outstanding supporting actor in a comedy series

  • Alec Baldwin, “Saturday Night Live” *WINNER
    Louie Anderson, “Baskets”
  • Tituss Burgess, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
  • Ty Burrell, “Modern Family”
  • Tony Hale, “Veep”
  • Matt Walsh, “Veep”


Outstanding supporting actress in a comedy series

  • Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live” *WINNER
  • Vanessa Bayer, “Saturday Night Live”
  • Leslie Jones, “Saturday Night Live”
  • Kathryn Hahn, “Transparent”
  • Judith Light, “Transparent”
  • Anna Chlumsky, “Veep”


Outstanding limited series

  • “Big Little Lies” *WINNER
  • “Fargo”
  • “Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • “The Night Of”
  • “Genius”


Outstanding lead actor in a limited series

  • Riz Ahmed, “The Night Of” *WINNER
  • Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock: The Lying Detective”
  • Robert De Niro, “The Wizard of Lies”
  • Ewan McGregor, “Fargo”
  • Geoffrey Rush, “Genius”
  • John Turturro, “The Night Of”


Outstanding lead actress in a limited series

  • Nicole Kidman, “Big Little Lies” *WINNER
  • Carrie Coon, “Fargo”
  • Felicity Huffman, “American Crime”
  • Jessica Lange, “Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • Susan Sarandon, “Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • Reese Witherspoon, “Big Little Lies”


Outstanding supporting actress in a limited series or movie

  • Laura Dern, “Big Little Lies” *WINNER
    Judy Davis, “Feud: Bette and Joan
  • Jackie Hoffman ,”Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • Michelle Pfeiffer, “The Wizard of Lies”
  • Shailene Woodley, “Big Little Lies”


Outstanding supporting actor in a limited series or movie

  • Alexander Skarsgard, “Big Little Lies” *WINNER
    Bill Camp, “The Night Of”
  • Alfred Molina, “Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • David Thewlis, “Fargo”
  • Stanley Tucci, “Feud: Bette and Joan”
  • Michael Kenneth Williams, “The Night Of”


Outstanding variety talk series

  • “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” *WINNER
    “Full Frontal With Samantha Bee”
  • “Jimmy Kimmel Live!”
  • “The Late Late Show With James Corden”
  • “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert”
  • “Real Time With Bill Maher”


Outstanding reality-competition program

  • “The Voice” *WINNER
  • “The Amazing Race”
  • “American Ninja Warrior”
  • “Project Runway”
  • “RuPaul’s Drag Race”
  • “Top Chef”


Outstanding directing for a comedy series

  • Donald Glover, “Atlanta”*WINNER
  • Jamie Babbit, “Silicon Valley”
  • Mike Judge, “Silicon Valley”
  • David Mandel, “Veep”
  • Morgan Sackett, “Veep”
  • Dale Stern, “Veep”


Outstanding writing for a drama series

  • Bruce Miller, “The Handmaid’s Tale” *WINNER
  • The Duffer Brothers, “Stranger Things”
  • Lisa Joy and Jonathan Nolan, “Westworld”
  • Peter Morgan, “The Crown”
  • Gordon Smith, “Better Call Saul”
  • Joe Weisberg and Joel Fields, “The Americans”


Outstanding writing for a comedy series

  • Aziz Ansari and Lena Waithe, “Master of None”*WINNER
  • Alec Berg, “Silicon Valley”
  • Donald Glover, “Atlanta”
  • Stephen Glover, “Atlanta”
  • Billy Kimball, “Veep”
  • David Mandel, “Veep”


Outstanding directing for a drama series

  • Reed Morano, “The Handmaid’s Tale” *WINNER
  • Stephen Daldry, “The Crown”
  • Kate Dennis, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
  • The Duffer Brothers, “Stranger Things”
  • Vince Gilligan, “Better Call Saul”
  • Lesli Linka Glatter, “Homeland”
  • Jonathan Nolan, “Westworld”